Good morning, afternoon and evening to you.  I know the title of this blog is a little bit silly, but I hope you will humor my humor here 🙂

The community Facebook group for Waiheke Island where I was living for over a year is the most active group page I have ever come across, considering there are only about 8,000 people living there. All I can say is that it’s a very unique place.  It’s off of the coast of Auckland, and is profound in many ways, one of which is politically speaking for the number of people.

IMG_8602

I got in a discussion that relates to the current local board elections which are going on there, and I am paying attention to now as I lived there for awhile and will be back there soon. The local board has had quite a profound effect on what has been happening to the island, which is why I like to stay on top of the happenings there.

The discussion was regarding EMF’s, or electromagnetic frequencies of cell phones, Wi-Fi and so on. This particular discussion was that one of the candidates said the Wi-Fi should be eliminated in schools due to the effects of EMF’s on children. I have children, grandchildren and great grandchildren, and so I have reason to want the best for children the newer generations other than my compassion for humans in general.

The thing about EMF’s is the effects are imperceptible and unpredictable. There have been many consequences attributed to the effects by way or various kinds of testing, and one of those is the production of cancer. Cancer has been with us for a number of years. and I don’t see it decreasing in any great numbers any time soon. Very rarely is there a specific cause that can be pointed at. Sometimes it is attributed to genetics, sometimes environmental/dietary factors, and sometimes emotional toxicity. My contention is that cancer is insidious and often has outside forces. EMF certainly plays a large part in cancer.

In the Facebook discussion there were some saying that there was nothing wrong with Wi-Fi, that in any case we can’t do anything about it since cell phones need Wi-Fi and that classes need to be connected and so on but to be honest those comments are irrelevant to me, and I’m in the technology business. I’ve certainly moved to use as little of my cell phone as I can, and moved more to a wired situation that wireless, because to go back to the point, we have built a society that is based on the acceptance of the existence of illnesses, and that the way to deal with that is to have various kinds of treatment like pharmaceuticals, vaccines and so on and so forth.

Here’s the thing – the greatest mechanism that we have to combat illness is our own body and I know that myself. I speak what I live and I live what I speak. I have my deviations like having a glass of wine and a glass of beer. I try to keep those in moderation and that’s a mute point some might say – you shouldn’t drink at all, and I don’t disagree with them, but I do accept responsibility for my deviations.

None of needs to be utterly and totally perfect, because largely speaking that’s an impossible life considering the system we are in. I can’t remember the last time I had fast food or anything like a hamburger. If I have a pizza, I’d rather make my own so I know what’s in it. My point here is that we can do much more to look after our own bodies, what we put into them and onto them.  My good friend Alexandra said to me once “We shouldn’t put anything onto our body that we wouldn’t eat,” and this is a great point because our skin is porous – it absorbs what we put onto it.

I did give up eating meat, not only for my own health which is definitely benefiting from it, but for the health of animals and also the effect on the environment. Eating meat is much more destructive to the environment than abstaining from doing so.

I’ve gone off on quite a few tangents here, but I would like to make the point that we can do more individually and in groups to look after our health. It’s NOT normal to be ill. I’ve met many people in this world who feel that it is normal, but it’s not the case. We do have the ability to make ourselves healthy and happy by addressing WHAT is making us ill, whether it is our own dietary or emotional habits, or the environment around us.

